Seeking Dissatifaction

This is my challenge to myself: It’s time to stop being satisfied with mediocre.

I’ve been wrestling the last few weeks with a desire for more of God.  That may sound like a strange thing to wrestle with – surely it’s good to desire Him?  What I’m really wrestling with is the question: am I seeking His Face or His Arm?  (I spend far too much time questioning my motives.)

I’ve come to the conclusion that I want to know Him more because of how wonderful I already know Him to be.  And knowing what I know of Him I am not content with just what I’ve seen and heard of the work of His mighty arm.  I am seeking His Face and His Arm – to be honest I’m not sure there’s a difference.

So far I’ve only glimpsed a tiny fraction of who He really is and I’ve only seen a tiny fraction of His power at work in this world.  I am not satisfied.  I am not content.  I will not settle for less – I want more.  I want to know Him more and I want to see His power unleashed to change the world.  It’s only my Lord and Father who can save those wallowing in darkness.  And to Him the greatest global crisis of this age is not perplexing in the least.  Because He IS I will seek His face and because of this broken world I will seek His mighty arm.

This God we’re talking about is the Creator of the Universe….

Pause and calmly think of that (as it says in the Psalms)

This is my challenge to myself: It’s time to stop being satisfied with mediocre.

 

Leave a Reply

